President Appoints New Members to Broadcom

December 5, 2019

President of Maldives, Ibrahim Mohamed Solih has today appointed three new members to the Maldives Broadcasting Commission constituted under Article 3 of the Broadcasting Act (Act number 16/2010).

Members appointed to the Maldives Broadcasting Commission are as follows:

  1. Mr Ali Yoosuf
  2. Mr Ahmed Gais
  3. Ms Maryam Waheeda

President Solih presented their Letters of Appointment at a ceremony held at the President’s Office this morning.

New members are appointed to the Commission for a five year term. The three new members are appointed to the Commission upon resignation of the then Commission president, Mohamed Shahyb, vice president Ismail Sofwan and Commissioner Hassan Nabaah.

The new members were selected through an interview process and voting by People’s Majlis.

In addition to the three new Commission members appointed today, the Commission consists of members, Aminath Saraahath Izzath and Zeena Zahir, who were appointed to Commission on 5th April 2016 and Amjad Waheed, who was appointed to the Commission on 15th March 2018.